The Grand School

Did You Know? The author of this blog has recently published a poetry anthology, Purple Ulcers, and is internationally available for purchase at a very humble price of £3.17/$4.05. Please make a contribution to this blog by purchasing a copy and ensuring the author is able to continue providing detailed analyses for all the students appearing for their English examinations soon! Purple Ulcers is available at the following links: https://www.amazon.com/Purple-Ulcers-Ammar-Khan/dp/1544794827/https://www.amazon.co.uk/Purple-Ulcers-Ammar-Khan/dp/1544794827/https://www.amazon.com/author/ammarkhan/

Arrived in hidden satire: lost in thought

sauntered the sibylline corridors with dots-

of mud and grass, to which I passed

the floors traced by students amassed

in a package crew.

Indulged in flavour, I succumbed to the view

of my new life, my new life

buried in sight: the purple loosestrifes

that surrounded the grand school

with a football field, a swimming pool

Where my friends: Ahmad, Haider, Zaidi, Mohammad, Hamza, Sheharyar—

Too many to mention

fought on the pitch like Olympic superstars

despite the ongoing tension

of endless exams,

throughout the O’Level programme.

Now, I sit in my Literature class

usually, finding a way to pass

my time

not with the help of a catalyst, or an enzyme

but in a way that I can sublime

amongst my peers, my shadow, and this very rhyme.

Yet, I still remember my dated vision of Lahore Grammar School

grasping onto my prolific pen

as a machine tool

hoping every now and then

I can revisit the grand school

and perhaps, relive those moments again.

Leave a Reply

